Triff das Team

Die Gründer

Umeeda wurde in Uganda in eine Unternehmerfamilie geboren, ihr Vater leitete eine Versicherungsgesellschaft und ihre Mutter leitete eine Montessori-Schule, BEIDE fuhren Autos!

 

In den 1970er Jahren terrorisierte ein Diktator das Land und unsere Familie floh als Flüchtlinge aus Uganda nach Kanada. Umeeda kam im Alter von 15 Jahren mit 1 Koffer an. Sie alle begannen ein neues Kapitel in ihrem Leben.  

 

Umeedas Mutter, in der Familie als Mamajee bekannt, kochte, um die Geschichten von zu Hause am Esstisch lebendig zu halten. Unsere Familie überzeugte Mamajee schließlich, ein Kochbuch mit dem Titel „Mamajee's Kitchen“ zu schreiben (das Sie auf unserer Website kaufen können).

 

Nareena, Umeedas Tochter, wuchs in Vancouver, Kanada, auf. Ihre Mutter und Mamajee brachten ihr das Kochen bei und vermittelten ihr ein starkes soziales Verantwortungsbewusstsein. Während sie lernte, wie man Hühnchen-Curry zubereitet, erzählten sie Geschichten aus Uganda und fragten Nareena, was sie tun würde, um die Welt zu einem besseren Ort zu machen. Ein junger Sozialunternehmer wurde gemacht!

 

edAg-8sA.jpeg
160A8790.jpg

Naledo wurde gegründet  im Jahr 2015…

Umeeda ging zuerst nach Belize, um sich über CUSO International freiwillig bei der belizischen Regierung zu engagieren, um ihre geschäftlichen Fähigkeiten mit Jugendlichen zu teilen.

 

In Belize bereiste Umeeda das Land und traf andere Menschen indischer Abstammung. Sie erfuhr, wie ihre Vorfahren vor über 200 Jahren als Dienstboten ins Land kamen. Während sie Geschichten erzählten, kam natürlich Kochen auf, ein Bauer zeigte ihr die Kurkuma, die auf seinem Land wild wuchs. Ihre Vorfahren hatten die goldene Wurzel mitgebracht! Es war das lebendigste Orange und die beste Qualität, die Umeeda je gesehen hatte! Nach monatelangem Experimentieren entwickelte sie das Rezept für die weltweit erste wild hergestellte Kurkumapaste aus ganzen Wurzeln – Truly Kurkuma.

 

Wir beschlossen, ein soziales Unternehmen aufzubauen, das Landwirte dabei unterstützt, zusätzliches Einkommen zu erzielen, Jugendliche zu beschäftigen, die Gesundheit auf der ganzen Welt zu verbessern und Produkte nachhaltig zu produzieren.

 

Der Name unseres Unternehmens stammt aus dem Bezirk in Belize, aus dem unser Kurkuma stammt, Toledo und Nareenas Name… Na + ledo = Naledo. Peinlich für Nareena, stolze Mutter, die mit Umeeda prahlt.

Die Mannschaft

Bei Naledo werden unsere Operationen von unserem unglaublichen Team geleitet. Wir bieten Schulungen und Mentoring in allen Bereichen des Geschäfts an, von der Buchhaltung bis zum Marketing. Es ist unsere Hoffnung, dass jedes Teammitglied, wenn es mit uns wächst, sich verzweigen und ihr eigenes soziales Unternehmen gründen oder andere Unternehmen beeinflussen, um unsere Wirkung zu steigern.

edAg-8sA.jpeg

Umeeda Switlo

Mitgründer/CEO

Umeeda hat eine abwechslungsreiche Karriere hinter sich, die die Arbeit als Meeresbiologin, Unternehmerin, Konzertveranstalterin und Künstlermanagerin sowie in gemeinnützigen und internationalen Entwicklungssektoren umfasst.  Umeeda hat Truly Turmeric entwickelt und leitet den Betrieb in Belize. 

Belkis.JPG

Belkis

Produktionsleiter

Belkis stammt aus Mafedi in Belize. Sie liebt es zu kochen und hofft, eines Tages ein Restaurant eröffnen zu können. Ihre Leidenschaft für Lebensmittel macht Belkis zur perfekten Produktionsleiterin! Sie experimentiert immer mit neuen Möglichkeiten, unser Kurkuma zu verwenden.

Ally.jpg

Ally

Shipping Manager

I grew up in a beautiful village in Toledo. I like experimenting with new things and love to travel!

Screen Shot 2020-02-27 at 10.45.46 AM.pn

Eric

Produktion

Ich komme aus Eldrige, Belize. Ich habe so viele Jobs gemacht, vom Bau bis zum Unterwasserbaggern und der Landwirtschaft. Ich habe einen Sohn, der 6 Jahre alt ist. Ich bin ostindischer Herkunft mit etwas spanischem Blut.  Bei Naledo lerne ich Etikettieren und habe Spaß an meiner Arbeit. Ein interessanter Tag war, als eine Schlange vor der Bürotür stand. Ich habe das Team überrascht, indem ich es gefangen habe.  Du hättest all die Schreie hören sollen.

IMG_5373.jpeg

Finn

Security

Finn helps keep the team safe and entertained. He likes chasing chickens and cats. He was adopted as a puppy when his family no longer wanted him.

edAg-8sA.jpeg

Nareena Switlo

Mitgründer/COO

Sie ist eine erfahrene Projektmanagerin und Spezialistin für Geschäftsentwicklung mit einem Hintergrund in Anthropologie.  Sie hat mit innovativen Organisationen zusammengearbeitet  in Sansibar, Kenia, Ghana, Indien und Kanada. Bei Naledo leitet Nareena Vertrieb, Vertrieb und Marketing.

Romelia.JPG

Romelia

Stellvertretender Produktionsleiter

Meine Mutter stellte Kokosöl her, um es auf der Caye, in der wir lebten, zu verkaufen. Von ihrer Arbeit kaufte sie ihr eigenes Grundstück und baute uns ein Haus. Mein Vater war  auch ein harter Arbeiter er hat uns gelehrt, dass Respekt sehr wichtig ist und immer anständig zu arbeiten. Ich arbeite jetzt bei Naledo Belize, wo ich weiß, dass ich mich auszeichnen werde.

IMG_2486.jpg

Martin

Production

Martin works hard to support his mother and family. He is quiet and always helping out the team in any way he can.

IMG_2483.jpg

Victor

Production

Victor is originally from Barranco and works hard! He is funny and keeps the team smiling. His favorite food is hudut with pig tail and he hopes to inspire others to do better in life. 

IMG_4736.jpeg

Bella + Finn

Naturbeziehungen + Sicherheit

Bella (Nature Relations) und Finn (Sicherheit)   helfen, das Team sicher und unterhalten zu halten und sicherzustellen, dass wir uns um die Umwelt kümmern. Sie legen großen Wert darauf, dass Truly Kurkuma nachhaltig hergestellt wird. 

Freiwilligenteam

Vielen Dank an unsere Freiwilligen, die uns geholfen haben, unsere Wirkung zu steigern und unser Team zu befähigen, Truly Turmeric und alle Gemeinschaften, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, noch besser zu machen!

IMG_0356.JPG

Tim Collins

Planung/Bau 2016

Tim Collins lernte Umeeda über Cuso International kennen, wo er in Vanuatu tätig war. Tim ist eine erstaunliche Person, die mit Computern bis zum Bau arbeiten kann. Tim kam für 2 Wochen nach Belize und half uns beim Aufbau unserer ersten kleinen Fabrik.

23659464_10156073461286802_5073545090148

David Crichton

Systemdesign-Freiwilliger 2017

David nutzte seine Expertise in  Anthropologie und IT, um unsere erste Farmer-Datenbank zu entwerfen, um unsere  Einschlag! Er war drei Monate in Belize.

Danke David. 

IMG.jpg

Angela Niesing

Lebensmittelwissenschaft und  Sicherheit 2016

Angela trat dem Naledo-Team für drei Monate als Freiwillige bei. Mit 2 Master-Abschlüssen in Lebensmittelwissenschaften aus Deutschland und Kanada war sie  gut gerüstet, um sicherzustellen, dass wir alle Vorschriften zur Lebensmittelsicherheit erfüllt und übertroffen haben.

IMG_20191208_185740_341.jpg

Alison Chadwick

M&E-Freiwilliger 2019

Alison hat sich mit Naledo freiwillig gemeldet, um einen Überwachungs- und Bewertungsrahmen zu erstellen, um unsere Auswirkungen in Toledo, Belize, zu messen. Sie arbeitete mit unseren Partnerzüchtern, Produktionsmitarbeitern, CEO und COO zusammen, um unseren Wirkungsbericht für 2019 zu erstellen! Alison hat auch mit unserem COO zusammengearbeitet, um die B Impact Assessment abzuschließen, den ersten Schritt zum zertifizierten BCorp!

Meet the Team

The Founders

Umeeda was born in Uganda to a family of entrepreneurs, her father managed an insurance company and her mother ran a Montessori school, BOTH raced cars!

 

During the 1970s, a dictator terrorized the country and our family fled Uganda for Canada as refugees. Umeeda arrived with 1 suitcase at the age of 15. They all started a new chapter in their lives.  

 

Umeeda’s mother, known in the family as Mamajee, cooked to help keep the stories of home alive over the dinner table. Our family finally convinced Mamajee to write a cookbook called ‘Mamajee’s Kitchen’, (which you can buy on our website).

 

Nareena, Umeeda’s daughter grew up in Vancouver, Canada. Her mom and mamajee taught her how to cook and instilled in her a strong sense of social responsibility. While she was learning how to make chicken curry they would tell stories of Uganda and ask Nareena what she was going to do to make the world a better place. A young social entrepreneur was made!

 

Naledo was founded in 2015…

Umeeda first went to Belize to volunteer with the Belizean government through CUSO International to share her business skills with youth.

 

While in Belize, Umeeda traveled the country and met other people of Indian ancestry. She learned the story of how their ancestors had come to the country as indentured servants over 200 years ago. As they were sharing stories, of course cooking came up, one farmer showed her the turmeric that grew wild on his land. Their ancestors had brought the golden root with them! It was the most vivid orange and the best quality Umeeda had ever seen! After months of experimenting she came up with the recipe for the world’s first wildcrafted, whole root turmeric paste – Truly Turmeric.

 

We decided to build a social enterprise that would support growers to earn extra income, employ youth, improve health around the world, and produce products sustainably.

 

Our company’s name comes from the district in Belize where our turmeric is sourced, Toledo and Nareena’s name… Na + ledo = Naledo. Embarrassing for Nareena, proud mom bragging rights for Umeeda.

The Team

At Naledo our operations are run by our incredible team. We provide training and mentorship on everything business, from accounting to marketing. It is our hope that as each team member grows with us, they branch out and start their own social enterprise or influence other businesses, increasing our impact.

Umeeda Switlo

Co-Founder/CEO

Umeeda has enjoyed a varied career that includes working as a marine biologist, entrepreneur, concert promoter and artist manager, non-profit and international development sectors.  Umeeda created Truly Turmeric and manages operations in Belize. 

Belkis

Production Manager

Belkis is from Mafedi in Belize. She loves to cook and one day hopes to open a restaurant. Her passion for food makes Belkis the perfect production manager! She is always experimenting with new ways to use our turmeric.

Meabh

Marketing Assistant

I am a Vancouver based Graphic Designer from the West of Ireland and a recent graduate from one of Irelands’ leading design schools, Limerick School of Art and Design. I'm excited to join team Naledo to share recipes, stories from our growers, and connect you all to our social enterprise.

Shawn D

Labeling/Shipping 

My Name is Lionel Sanchez. I live in the beautiful town of Punta Gorda. I have a great passion for farming and shipwright. My dad and I work hand in hand to let our family farm be a wonderful place to spend quality time. At Naledo Belize, I really enjoy what I am doing. On my holidays, I engage in art and wood work.

Eric

Production

I am from Eldrige, Belize. I have done so many jobs from construction to underwater dredging and farming. I have a son who is 6 years old . I am of East Indian origin with a bit of Spanish blood. At Naledo I am learning labelling and enjoying my work. An interesting day was when a snake was at the office door. I surprised the team by catching it. You should have heard all the screams.

Bella + Finn

Nature Relations + Security

Bella (Nature Relations) and Finn(Security)  help keep the team safe, entertained, and ensure we take care of the environment. They really care that Truly Turmeric is made sustainably. 

Nareena Switlo

Co-Founder/COO

She is an experienced project manager and business development specialist with a background in Anthropology.  She has worked with innovative organizations in Zanzibar, Kenya, Ghana, India, and Canada. At Naledo Nareena manages sales, distribution, and marketing.

David 

Office Manager

David is from Forest Home, Belize. He brings to Naledo strong knowledge in business administration, financial, tourism and human resources management. He is currently a Justice of the Peace.

Romelia

Assistant Production Manager

My mother use to make coconut oil to sell in the caye where we lived. From her labour she bought her own property and built us a home. My father was also a hard worker he taught us that respect is very important and to always work decently. I now work at Naledo Belize where I know I will excel.

Mateo

Production

I am from Santa Cruz village and am Mopan Maya. My father has been growing turmeric for many years. I enjoy working with our village when we do our community work called a fajina. We get together and help others and keep our community safe and clean. My passion is cooking and I enjoy trying to cook new foods. I'm happy working making Truly Turmeric for you.

Peter

Production

I recently joined Naledo and am really enjoying going lime hunting and receiving the turmeric from our growers. I studied Agriculture in Corazon. I have worked in a bike shop and a hardware store in Punta Gorda. I have a 4 year old son. I love farming and hope to have a farm of my own someday.

Volunteer Team

Thank you to our volunteers for helping us increase our impact and empower our team to make Truly Turmeric and all the communities we work with even better!

IMG_0356.JPG

Tim Collins

Planning/Contruction 2016

Tim Collins met Umeeda through Cuso International where he has served in Vanuatu. Tim is an amazing person able to work with computers to construction. Tim came to Belize for 2 weeks and helped us set up our first small factory.

23659464_10156073461286802_5073545090148

David Crichton

Systems Design Volunteer 2017

David used his expertise in anthropology and IT to design our first farmer database to track our impact! He was in Belize for three months.

Thank you David. 

IMG.jpg

Angela Niesing

Food Science and Safety 2016

Angela joined the Naledo team as a volunteer for three months. With 2 Masters degrees in Food Science from Germany and Canada she was well equipped to ensure that we met and exceeded all food safety regulations.

IMG_20191208_185740_341.jpg

Alison Chadwick

M&E Volunteer 2019

Alison volunteered with Naledo to create a Monitoring and Evaluation Framework to measure our impact in Toledo, Belize. She worked alongside our partnering growers, production staff, CEO, and COO to produce our impact report for 2019! Alison also collaborated with our COO to complete the B Impact Assessment, the first step to becoming a certified BCorp!

©2015-2020

 Naledo Foods and Beverages Inc. 

Vancouver, Canada and Punta Gorda, Belize

Terms of Service

   Healthy, Sustainable, Empowering Communities

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle